My Grandfather’s Death

My mind found solace in the afterward,

when we drove away from the gravesite.

My grandfather, resting where he preferred,


Lay beneath the ground – interred

in Camp Lejeune. As I slept that night,

my mind found solace. In the afterward –


in the nights that followed, absurd

visions seemed to fill my sight:

my grandfather. Resting where he preferred,


my father would be awakened when he heard

my cries. His comfort always made it right.

My mind found solace in the afterward.


When my father told me of his death, when I first heard,

my mother said “he’s gone to be with the Light,

Grandfather is resting where He prefers,”


I thought: he’s gone away, like a bird

whose swift movements betray its fright.

But my mind found solace in the afterward.

My grandfather was resting where he preferred.

Leave a Reply

