The Funeral

The cemetery was gray, or maybe that’s just the way I remember it. It’d had the feelings of ghosts and lonely corpses even though the sky was clear and the grass was green. I remember seeing a mound of sand, all brown and soil-black, where the gravediggers had cleared a fresh space for him. I imagined that it smelled like vegetables in the hopes that maybe he’d feel somewhat at home there, in the ground. My grandfather had been an excellent cook.

To continue reading, click here

One thought on “The Funeral

  1. Heather says:

    Hey Mike,
    I know you posted this a while ago but I honestly just discovered your website. Thank you for sharing this. Your reaction to your grandfather’s death reminds me a lot of my reaction to my grandfather’s death. It takes a lot to share something about your own grief. Thank you for doing that!

Leave a Reply

