A List-Riddled Description of My Summer

BOOKS READ:

  • Dances With Dragons – George R.R. Martin
  • Dune – Frank Herbert
  • Dune Messiah – Frank Herbert
  • Children of Dune (partly) – Frank Herbert
  • Republocrat – ????
  • The Eye of the World (partly) – Robert Jordan
  • Reamde – Neal Stephenson

COMICS READ:

  • Batman: Court of Owls – Scott Snyder (9 issues in total… there are more, but I don’t have them)
  • Freak Angels – Warren Ellis
  • Gotham Central – Ed Brubaker and Greg Rucka (40 issues in total)
  • Maus – Art Spiegelman
  • Planetary – Warren Ellis (32 issues in total)
  • Preacher – Garth Ennis
  • Sin City – Frank Miller
  • Star Wars Legacy (still reading) – Jon Ostrander
  • Grant Morrison’s Batman stuff, including:
    • Batman and Son
    • The Black Glove
    • Batman RIP
    • Whatever Happened to the Caped Crusader?
    • Batman Reborn
    • Time and the Batman
    • The Return of Bruce Wayne
    • Batman Incorporated

TV SHOWS WATCHED:

  • Luther (2nd Season)
  • Sherlock (2nd Season)
  • Game of Thrones (1st Season, some of 2nd season)
  • Various episodes from multiple shows

STORIES WRITTEN:

  • Darius Wakes (~18,000 words so far)
  • Dwarf Story (untitled as of now; ~5000 words so far)

MILES HIKED:

  • ~6 mi.

HOURS WORKED:

  • 40 per week (I’m too lazy to total this up…)

MISCELLANEOUS ACTIVITIES:

  • Rare visits to the movie theater (I think only for The Dark Knight Rises)
  • Infrequent Magic: the Gathering games
  • Infrequent sessions of 2 different Dungeons and Dragons games
  • A multitude of diapers changed
  • 1 6-hour moving day
  • 3 weddings attended
  • 1 bottle of Bacardi 8 purchased (liquor of any sort is a rarity for me)

 

In summary, it’s been one hell of a nerdyfun summer. But alas, it’s time to get serious about this dwarf story that I’m writing. And it’s time to get serious about The SĒ(a)D Magazine. So while it’s been great, and while my obsessiveness will not let me stop reading the comics I have on my computer, and while I still have such shows as Breaking Bad and It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia and Community on my list to watch, I think the coming months will need to see my energy expended in writing and figuring out the small business stuff. I will try to continue the once-a-week updates to the blog from now on, and I have been seriously thinking about starting to review comics as well as just traditional books. Lord knows I have enough fodder for that. I might even write something about my thoughts on the determinism vs. free will debate (and its religious and moral implications) if I have the time to study up on it again – after all, I’ve been out of philosophy classes for a number of months now. Anyway, I’ll see you guys next week! Toodles.*

*this is my way of showing that I didn’t know how to wrap this thing up.

2 thoughts on “A List-Riddled Description of My Summer

Leave a Reply

