Creep–A Brief Review

creep-poster-600x900I’ll be honest with you, faithful readers. I have a headache that is absolutely killing me right now. It’s difficult to focus without feeling like I need to vomit. So I’m going to keep this review even shorter than normal this week. For this installment, I’m reviewing the film Creep, which is filmed in that handheld style that swept the filmmaking world by storm in the past several years. It’s easy for that style to feel too clichéd already, but I’m happy to say that I think Creep does it well.

The reason for this success, I think, is that the narrative fits the style. The plot is about a young man who has answered a newspaper ad that requires him to spend eight hours filming someone in that person’s mountain home. Feeling adventurous, our protagonist agrees. What we’re watching is the film from that encounter.

Creep delivers on its name, and I was pleasantly surprised with how well the antagonist captures the feel of a creep. At first, he seems merely socially awkward. He says weird things, stares a bit too long, etc. But he isn’t terrifying exactly—he’s just creepy. And the film masterfully builds from there, ratcheting up the tension progressively in each scene.

I must admit that I watched Creep during the day, so I probably didn’t get the full horror effect that a night viewing would permit. But I thought it was great and very well made. I would definitely recommend it.

Stopping early because of my splitting headache. I hope you’ll forgive me.

Tomorrow’s review will be on You’re Next. Stay tuned.

One thought on “Creep–A Brief Review

Leave a Reply

